PG = Persuasive Games

Date Day Class Topic/Reading Due
January 7 Monday Introduction to Rhetoric
Assignment #1 [ppt] [prompt]
January 9 Wednesday PG 1-28 [discussion]
Rhetoric and its situations [ppt]
Rhetorical Analysis [ppt]
Rhetorical analysis [activity]
January 14 Monday Peer Review/Workshop Assignment #1 [ppt] [prompt]
MLA formatting [activity]
Assignment #2
Assignment #1
January 16 Wednesday Arguments and Toulmin [ppt]
Argument analysis [activity]
January 21 Monday No Class (MLK, jr.)
January 23 Wednesday Peer Review/Workshop Assignment #2
PG 28-54
Procedural rhetoric [activity]
Assignment #3
Assignment #2
January 28 Monday Game day #1
January 30 Wednesday Civic responsibility, Political/Ideological games
PG 99-112; 121-124 [ideology discussion]
February 4 Monday Workshop/Review #3
Assignment #4
PG 147-158 [advergames discussion]
1000 Blank White Cards [activity]
 Assignment #3
February 6 Wednesday Metagame [activity]
February 11 Monday Game Day #2
February 13 Wednesday PG 233-244, 256-260 [edugames discussion]
Reacting to… [activity]
Assignment #5
 Assignment #4
February 18 Monday Game Day #3
February 20 Wednesday NO CLASS
February 25 Monday Writing/Research Studio  Assignment #5
February 27 Wednesday Writing/Research Studio
March 4 Monday Writing/Research Studio
March 6 Wednesday Writing/Research Studio
March 11 Monday Writing/Research Studio
March 13 Wednesday NO CLASS LAST DAY FOR REVISIONS
March 18 Monday Game Presentations
March 20 Wednesday NO CLASS Portfolio Due